Register Here

Agenda At A Glance

(Subject to change) 

CE Analytic Cumulative Effects Conference Agenda

November 18, 2020 | Virtual Event


8:00 a.m. PT /11:00 a.m. ET Special Opening Welcome

Land Acknowledgement, Welcome from Salmon Arm, Welcome from Toronto

8:30 a.m. PT 11:30 a.m. ET - Welcome & Opening Remarks -Barry Wilson, Systems Ecologist, CE Analytic

8:45 a.m. PT/ 11:45 a.m. ET  Live From France: Systems Dynamics Keynote: Aviate, Navigate, Communicate: Applying the Key Principles of Fighter Pilots to the Future of Cumulative Effects Management 

Pierre-Henri “ATÉ” Chuet 

About Your Keynote: “ATÉ” flew fighter aircraft from aircraft carriers in the French Navy for a decade. He flew day & night combat operations in Iraq, has flown airshows in Europe and instructed on the Dassault Rafale. With 18 years of flying experience he logged over 2500 hours of flight time and 200 carrier landings as well as flying numerous combat missions. During his career he faced emergencies, had to take life or death decisions and led young pilots into combat. Até now shares all the methods and techniques he used to perform in fast jets with the corporate world as a trainer, coach and consultant.

9:40 a.m. PT/12:40 p.m. ET CE Analytic Award Clip

9:45 a.m. PT/ 12:45 p.m. ET Open Data to Support Transparent, Effective and Efficient Monitoring of Cumulative Effects

  • Opening up access to data to support environmental monitoring and scenario planning – what work is underway?
  • Leveraging analytics: spotlight on organizations leading the charge
  • Unlocking access to data across all levels of government and regions – what are the next
    steps?

10:15 a.m. PT/ 1:15 p.m. ET CE Analytic Award Clip

10:20 a.m. PT/ 1:20 p.m. ET Live from New York: Global Connections Keynote: Energy & Policy

Dr. Carolyn Kissane, Academic Director and Clinical Professor, MS in Global Affairs and MS in Global Security, Conflict and Cybercrime, Director of Energy and Environmental Policy Concentration, NYU- SPS Center for Global Affairs, New York University

About Your Keynote: Dr. Carolyn Kissane teaches graduate level courses examining the geopolitics of
energy, comparative energy politics, energy, environment and resource security, a regional course
focusing on Central Asia. She is Coordinator of the Energy and Environment concentration at the
Center and is faculty adviser to the Energy Policy International Club.

Dr. Kissane was awarded the
esteemed NYU Excellence in Teaching Award in 2007, the SCPS Award for Teaching Excellence in 2009, and nominated for the NYU-wide Distinguished Teaching Award in 2008, 2009 and 2016. She was named Breaking Energy’s Top Ten New York Women in Energy and Top Ten Energy Communicator.

She hosts Fueling our Future, an energy series she moderates which brings in energy and environment experts for conversation and debate. She serves on the boards of the New York Energy Forum, New York Energy Week, and the Clean Start Advisory Board. Dr. Kissane received her Ph.D. from Columbia University.

On Demand Presentations:

  • Legal/Regulatory Framework
  • Speaker Case Studies / Spotlights
  • Qwelmínte- Secwepemc – cumulative effects simulations of new cultural performance metrics in Secwepemcúl’ecw

10:40 a.m. PT/ 1:40 p.m. ET Refreshment and Grab Your Lunch Break

10:50 a.m. PT/ 1:50 p.m. ET Energy & Industry Panel: Thought-Leaders Perspectives on Building Prosperity while Caring for the Earth

  • Moving from balancing interests to aligning interests
  • Win-win solutions: Finding ways to collaborate with and build capacity in the community
  • Next steps for renewable energy and the green economy

11:20 a.m. PT/ 2:20 p.m.ET CE Analytic Award Clip

11:25 a.m. PT/2:25 p.m. ET Lessons Learned, Best Practices and Critical Gaps in Regional Environmental Assessment: A Synthesis of Canadian and International Literature

Dr. Jill Blakely, Associate Professor University of Saskatchewan

About Your Speaker: Jill Blakley holds a Ph.D. in Geography (University of Saskatchewan) specializing in environmental assessment. Since 2009, she’s been a faculty member of the Department of Geography and Planning and an Associate of the School of Environment and Sustainability.

Jill’s academic and professional experience spans the areas of environmental assessment, regional and urban planning, and natural resources management. In the past 15 years, Jill has published more than 70 academic papers, book chapters and technical reports on environmental assessment topics and provided expertise on strategic and cumulative effects assessment to organizations such as the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, Transport Canada, Parks Canada, Alberta Environment, the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency, and the Manitoba Clean Environment Commission. She is lead editor of the forthcoming international Handbook of Cumulative Impact Assessment.

11:45 p.m. PT/ 2:45 p.m. ET CE Analytic Award Clip

11:50 a.m. PT/ 2:50 p.m. ET Panel: In Deep Water – What Water Quality and Quantity Tells Us About Cumulative Effects

  • Exploring why water is such a foundational and critical facet of cumulative effects 
  • Looking at initiatives in place to measure and monitor quality and quantity
  • How to anticipate hydro-dynamic shifts associated with climate change

    Sponsored by Machydro

12:20 p.m.PT /3:20 p.m. ET  Live From Canada: CFX Connections Keynote 

Barry Wilson, Systems Ecologist, CE Analytic

About Your Keynote: Barry is a Systems Ecologist, an insightful and powerful Event Speaker, and a Cumulative Effects Specialist with particular expertise in holistic land use planning. Drawing upon over 30 years experience in the Indigenous, industrial, government, and consulting sectors, Barry uses systems dynamics understanding to balance environmental, economic and social priorities.

Barry’s relentless drive to unlock prosperity while caring for the earth that sustains us is helping governments, not-for-profits and individuals create the future they want.

Barry helps his clients better understand and manage the cumulative effects of land use, economic development, wildfire, avalanches, floods and climate change.  He is a leader in building, using and teaching leading edge spatial and temporal simulation modelling in a scenario planning framework.

While his geographic focus has been in British Columbia and Alberta Canada, his projects have taken him north to the Sahtu Region of the NWT, east to Ontario and Saskatchewan, and south to California. Living and working in Secwepemcúl’ecw, Barry has been privileged to work closely with several Secwépemc communities on ground-breaking cumulative effects assessment for major Environmental Assessments including the Trans Mountain Pipeline expansion, the proposed KGHM Ajax gold mine, and the twinning of the Trans Canada Highway. 

1:15 p.m. PT/ 4:15 p.m. ET Refreshment Break

1:20 p.m. PT/ 4:20 p.m. ET Live Q&A Session

 

 

Save Your Spot

Upon registration get immediate access to the video library of previous CFX Conference Series Event Presentations.

Register Now